Corporate Tax Transparency Code and Register

Post-implementation review of the TTC

The Board commenced a post-implementation review of the TTC in 2018. Following consultation with a wide range of stakeholders, the Board is proposing amendments to the TTC which are outlined in the Consultation Paper released on 26 February 2019.

The Board invites interested stakeholders to review the proposed amendments and provide comments to the Board. Instructions on how to make a submission are included in the Consultation Paper. The timeframe for submissions closed on Tuesday 26 March 2019.


The Tax Transparency Code (the TTC) is a set of principles and ‘minimum standards’ to guide disclosure of tax information by businesses. the TTC was developed by the Board of Taxation at the Government’s request:

  • To encourage large and medium-sized businesses to publicly disclose their tax affairs to highlight those that are paying their fair share and to encourage all businesses not to engage in aggressive tax avoidance; and
  • For large businesses to take the lead, to become more transparent and help educate the public about their compliance with Australia’s tax laws.

Notwithstanding that the TTC is voluntary, the Government expects all responsible large and medium businesses operating in Australia to adopt it.

The Treasurer released the Board’s report to Government A Tax Transparency Code on 3 May 2016.

Role of the ATO

The ATO is responsible for the centralised hosting of published reports provided to the ATO by businesses who have adopted the TTC.

To find out more information about the ATO’s role in administering the TTC please visit their Voluntary Tax Transparency Code page.

Businesses wishing to advise the ATO of the links to their TTC reports can do so by emailing

Draft AASB Guidance

The Board of Taxation requested that the AASB develop guidance to assist businesses meet the TTC recommendations for the suggested tax reconciliation and calculation of an effective tax rate. The AASB has issued draft guidance is in the form of a Draft Appendix to the TTC [ DOCX 140KB | PDF 312KB].

How to access published TTC reports

You can access the links to the published TTC reports as notified to the ATO by signatories that have adopted the Code.

ATO mandatory corporate tax transparency

The ATO has a legislative duty to report information about certain corporate tax entities under section 3C of the Taxation Administration Act 1953 and do this annually through the Report of Entity Tax Information.

Register of Signatories

The signatories to the register below have committed to applying the principles and the details of the TTC. The Board is aware of a number of companies who have internal processes underway to adopt the TTC.

The Board notes that the number of registered entities is likely to differ from the ATO published data (which is based on taxpayer entities rather than taxpayer groups) as a result of the flexibility provided under the Voluntary Code. This makes direct comparisons less meaningful. According to a recent evaluation by the Corporate Tax Association, the current signatories registered with the Board represents more than 60 per cent of taxable income and tax payable by corporate taxpayers who are potentially subject to the TTC. This also illustrates the concentration of corporate tax collections in Australia.

To become a signatory to the Register, please email

Organisation Financial Year for First Published Tax Transparency Report (1)
Independence Group NL 30 June 2018 (Published)
Infigen Energy Limited 30 June 2017 (Published)
ING Bank (Australia) Limited 31 December 2018 (Published)
INPEX Corporation 31 December 2017 (Published)
Insurance Australia Group Limited 30 June 2017 (Published)
InvoCare Limited 31 December 2019 (Published)
IOOF Holdings Ltd 30 June 2017 (Published)
IRESS Limited 31 December 2019 (Published)
JB Hi-Fi Limited 30 June 2021 (Published)
Kubota Australia Pty Ltd 31 December 2017 (Published)
Lendlease Corporation Limited 30 June 2017 (Published)
LGIAsuper 30 June 2021 (Published)
Lion 30 September 2016 (Published)
Macquarie Group Limited 31 March 2017 (Published)
Macquarie Telecom Group Limited Part A of the Tax Transparency Code for the year ended 30 June 2016 and Part A and B of the Tax Transparency Code for the year ending 30 June 2017
McKinsey Pacific Rim, Inc. 31 December 2017 (Published)
McMillan Shakespeare Group 30 June 2017 (Published)
Medibank Private Limited 30 June 2016 (Published)
Metcash Limited 30 April 2018 (Published)
Mirrabooka Investments Ltd 30 June 2016 (Published)
Mirvac 30 June 2016 (Published)
Mitsui & Co (Australia) Ltd 31 March 2018 (Published)
Mitsui-Itochu Iron Pty Ltd 31 March 2019 (Published)
Moorebank Intermodal Company Limited 30 June 2018 (Published)
NAB 30 September 2016 (Published)
National Pharmacies 30 June 2016 (Published)
National Roads and Motorists Association Limited 30 June 2019 (Published)
Naval Group Australia Pty Ltd 31 December 2018 (Published)
NBN Co Limited 30 June 2019 (Published)
Newcrest Mining Ltd 30 June 2016 (Published)
Newmont Australia 31 December 2017 (Published)
NIB Holdings Limited 30 June 2018 (Published)
Nine Entertainment Co Holdings Ltd (Nine) 30 June 2020 (Published)
Northern Star Resources 30 June 2017 (Published)
oOh!media Limited 31 December 2017 (Published)
Optus 31 March 2018 (Published)
Orica Limited 30 September 2016 (Published)
Origin Energy Limited 30 June 2016 (Published)
Orora Limited 31 December 2020 (Published)
Orora Limited 30 June 2022 (Published)
Ovato Limited (formerly named PMP Limited) 30 June 2016 (Published)
OZ Minerals Limited 31 December 2018 (Published)
Pendal Group Limited (formerly named BT Investment Management Limited) 30 September 2016 (Published)
Penske Transportation Group International Pty Ltd 31 December 2022 (Published)
Perpetual Limited 30 June 2016 (Published)
Perron Investments Pty Ltd 30 June 2016 (Published)
Qantas Group 30 June 2016 (Published)
Qantas Superannuation Plan 30 June 2020
QBE Insurance Group Limited 31 December 2016 (Published)
QSuper 30 June 2017 (Published)