About the Board of Taxation

The Board of Taxation is a non-statutory advisory body that provides the Government with real-time advice on tax policy issues by contributing a business and tax community perspective to improving the design and operation of taxation laws.

The Board undertakes in-depth reviews as and when requested by Government, and provides input on tax policy and law design matters in real-time, as decisions are being made. During the course of the Board’s work, it works closely with business and the community. The contributions of stakeholders inform the Board’s advice to the Government – the Board regularly relays feedback it receives directly to Ministers.

The Board draws on its Advisory Panel and broad networks throughout the business and tax community in carrying out its work.

See the Board’s Charter in full.

The Board currently comprises of 10 members, seven of whom have been appointed from the non-government sector and three of whom are ex officio members — the Secretary to the Australian Treasury, the Commissioner of Taxation and the First Parliamentary Counsel. The Board of Taxation is supported by a Secretariat provided by the Treasury.

The Board welcomes comments and suggestions from the community in relation to its advisory role on the operation of the Australian taxation system. Please contact us.